Cherokee Pottery

Oh, dear!  Already I have missed a day.  It came as quickly as it went.  Well, that’s disappointing… but there’s no use staying in the past.  I may as well move forward.

Here’s a moment from yesterday:

They were so loud, but…

They were working together.  They were using their problem solving skills to figure out the recipe.  They were learning, and they were enjoying themselves.

I gave a quiet signal.  Then another.  Then another.  Then another.  Finally I got their attention and reminded them to speak at a whisper.  I asked them to sample a whisper volume for me, and they did.  Then I sent them back to it.

Once again… They. Were. So. Loud… But…

They were happy.  They were getting along.  They were being messy, creative, thinkers.

I gave a quiet signal.  Then another.  Then another.  Then another.  Finally I got their attention and reminded them to speak at a  whisper.  I asked them to sample a whisper volume for me, and they did.  Then I sent them back to work.

They. Were. So. Loud… BUT…

Win some lose some.  Sometimes you have to pick your battles.  I think learning and collaborating takes precedence over volume.  I also wonder if through the chaos of calculating, measuring, and creating my ears magnified their sound.

But if felt like they were so loud.

3 thoughts on “Cherokee Pottery

  1. Laughing out loud! You have such a great sense of humor – especially in your writing. I love your last line!!! And, the part about your ears magnifying the sound. Comic timing is right on!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

