Google Classroom to the Rescue!

Since the beginning of the year the yellow light has remained lit on my projector, hinting that it needs a new bulb.  However, since the beginning of the year, my projector has been properly displaying what I asked it to.  I knew that it was just a matter of time before the thing finally stopped shining.

Today was the day.

No projector today to show off my awesome slideshows, videos, timers, or anything else to my students.  I had to be an old school anchor chart making, whiteboard only teacher.  It mostly worked out.  We used the word “flexibility” a lot today.  However when Social Studies came, one of my students came up with a great idea!

The lesson began with me explaining what we were going to do, had technology cooperated, and how what we were going to do today would help them with a project that they’ll start tomorrow.  We were going to take some notes on Cherokee arts and technology.  We were then going to combine math and social studies tomorrow by solving math problems to figure out a recipe for salt dough.  Then we were going to make pottery with our salt dough.  This will of course be accompanied by a writing piece as well.  (I’m a little excited!)

After explaining everything we were GOING to do, my student, asks me, “Can you send our notes to the Chromebooks?”

DING! DING! DING!  We have a winner!

Of course we can do that!  So, after some verbal praise, I quickly sent the notes to Google Classroom, and we were good to go!  Thank you Google Classroom for saving the day!

5 thoughts on “Google Classroom to the Rescue!

  1. Flexibility is the key 😉 I love the line of “old school anchor chart making white board teacher.” That made me laugh out loud. I remember having a board and not being able to imagine life without it. I sympathize and kudos to the kiddos for a great idea!

    Like

  2. This made me laugh out loud! Being flexible is necessary with technology sometimes, huh? I am glad that your students didn’t make you be too “old school”! Thanks for this slice and I am excited to read more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

