Beep. Beep. Beep.

“Beep, beep, beep, beep…” shrieks my alarm clock. Why? (Beep!) Where did the time go? (Beep, beep!) Didn’t my head just hit the pillow a blink ago? (Beep, beep, beep!) Why must you beep so much?

Ugh, it’s time to hit the snooze button. What? It’s certainly not time to get up. I reach for my phone, and jab it’s flat face until the obnoxious screeching stops. I feel annoyed. How dare the alarm that I set disturb my slumber. The nerve. What an annoying way to wake up. Who invented this thing, anyways?

Nothing good can come from waking up to such an annoying sound.

Usually I don’t have to wake up to the irritating, repetitive beep of my alarm clock. My alarm clock is usually orange and furry. The time change must have goofed his internal clock too.

Normally I wake up to a paw smacking me in the face, and I do mean smacking. It’s also annoying, but the second I open my eyes, I’m rewarded with purrs, headbutts, and kisses. My non-furry alarm clock doesn’t do that. So, I can’t stay mad. It’s like he’s saying, “Wake up NOW, HUMAN!” My eyes open. “Oh… are you awake? That’s wonderful! Did you know I love you so, so much? Please feed me.” If I try to close my eyes again the face smacking naturally continues. Ferris knows what’s effective.

This morning, however, is the morning after the spring time change. Spring forward, and fall back. We lost an hour of sleep. It should be 4:45 a.m. This is too early. I look around for my furry alarm clock.

Ferris is asleep on the pillow above my head. He’s laying on his side, and I can hear him purring in his sleep. His paw is stretched out so that it’s touching where my head was laying. Whiskey is actually cuddled in Mike’s arms, sound asleep. It’s picture perfect. Who actually sleeps with a cat snuggled in between their arms? My boys.

I guess I was wrong. Something good can come from enduring an irritating, enthusiastic, repetitive beeping sound. I would’ve missed this moment. What a sweet wake up.

2 thoughts on “Beep. Beep. Beep.

Leave a Reply

